Skip to main content

Editing cells

Entering content in a cell​

Entering data manually​

  • Click a desired cell on a sheet.
  • Type text, a number, a date, or time and press Enter.

Entering a formula​

  • Click the cell where you want the formula results to appear.
  • Type the = sign.
  • Create a formula. For this, you can use:
    • constant numbers and calculation operators, for example =3-2*5+12
    • cell references and calculation operators, for example =A1/A2
    • built-in functions, for example =MAX(C46;D46)
  • Press Enter.
note

Lowercase letters in formulas are automatically converted to upper case.

To insert a hyperlink into a cell, you can use one of the ways described below.

Using context menu​

  • Right-click the cell, choose Insert link

DHTMLX Spreadsheet context menu with the Insert link option highlighted

  • In the window that appears, type the Text, the Link, and click Save

DHTMLX Spreadsheet Insert link dialog with Text and Link input fields

Using toolbar button​

  • Select the cell, click the Insert link button in the toolbar

DHTMLX Spreadsheet toolbar with the Insert link button highlighted

  • In the window that appears, type the Text, the Link, and click Save

Using menu​

  • Select the cell, go to: Insert -> Insert link in the menu

DHTMLX Spreadsheet Insert menu with the Insert link option

  • In the window that appears, type the Text, the Link, and click Save.
  • Select the cell that contains the link you want to copy
  • In the popup that appears, click the Copy icon

DHTMLX Spreadsheet link popup with the Copy icon highlighted

  • Select the cell that contains the link you want to edit
  • In the popup that appears, click the Edit icon

DHTMLX Spreadsheet link popup with the Edit icon highlighted

  • Select the cell that contains the link you want to remove
  • In the popup that appears, click the Remove link icon

DHTMLX Spreadsheet link popup with the Remove link icon highlighted

Using drop-down lists in cells​

You can create a drop-down list in a cell to let users select the necessary item from the list.

Creating a drop-down list by typing it manually​

  • Select a cell or a range of cells where you want to create the list

  • Go to: Data -> Data validation in the menu

  • Choose the List of items criteria

  • Type the items you want to appear in the drop-down list

  • Press the Save button

DHTMLX Spreadsheet Data validation dialog creating a drop-down list from a list of items

Creating a drop-down list by using a range​

  • Type the items you want to appear in the drop-down list

  • Select a cell or a range of cells where you want to create the list

  • Go to: Data -> Data validation in the menu

  • Choose the List from a range criteria

  • Select your list range

  • Press the Save button

DHTMLX Spreadsheet Data validation dialog creating a drop-down list from a cell range

Removing validation from a cell​

You can stop using a drop-down list in a cell. To do that:

  • Select the necessary cell or a range of cells from which you want to remove a drop-down list
  • Go to: Data -> Data validation in the menu
  • Select the Remove validation option

DHTMLX Spreadsheet Data menu with the Data validation Remove validation option

Entering the same data in several cells​

You can enter the same data into several cells by using the Fill Handle to automatically fill data in worksheet cells. See the details below.

Auto filling cells with content​

You can automatically fill cells with data. This is how it works:

1. Select a cell(s) the data of which will be used as a basis for filling more cells.

2. Type data into the selected cell(s). Auto filling works in several ways:

  • copying the value

For example, to make a series 4,4,4,4..., type 4 in the first cell only.

  • following the pattern
    • to make a series 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ... , type 1 and 2 into the first two cells.
    • to make a series 1 ,3, 5, 7, 9, ... , type 1 and 3 into the first two cells.
    • to make a series 2 ,4, 6, 8, 10, ... , type 2 and 4 into the first two cells.
    • besides numbers, you can also use letters in a pattern, for example, to make a series like 1, a, 2, b, 3, a, 4, b, ..., type 1, a, 2, b into the first four cells.
    • to continue a number at the end of a text, type the first values, for example, to make a series item1, item2, item3, ..., type item1 and item2 into the first two cells.
    • to make a series of dates, type a date into the first cell: each next cell gets the next day.
  • repeating the text

For example, to make a series North, South, North, South, ..., type North and South into the first two cells. Numbers in the cells with the Text format are repeated in the same way.

3. Drag the Fill Handle

DHTMLX Spreadsheet autofill dragging the fill handle to replicate cell data

Copying cells to and from Excel​

You can copy cells with Ctrl (Cmd) + C and paste them with Ctrl (Cmd) + V within the Spreadsheet and between the Spreadsheet and Microsoft Excel:

  • within the Spreadsheet, the cells keep their values, formulas, styles, number formats and links. The cell references in the formulas are shifted to the new position
  • in Excel, the pasted cells get the values (the results of the formulas, not the formulas), the styles (including the font size), merged cells and links. The rows hidden by a filter are skipped
  • cells copied from Excel keep their values, styles (including the font size), number formats, merged cells and links when you paste them into the Spreadsheet

Locking cells​

You can lock cells to protect their values from changes. When you lock a cell, it shows a gray "key" in the top right corner. Locked cells do not respond to any attempts to edit them. Screen readers announce the refused edit: "The cell is locked" for a single cell, or "Locked cells were not changed" when the selected range holds locked cells.

DHTMLX Spreadsheet locked cells marked with a gray key icon in the top right corner

To lock or unlock a cell, use one of the ways described below:

Lock cells via the toolbar button​

  • Select the cells you want to lock/unlock (they do not have to be adjacent).
  • Click the Lock cell button in the toolbar.

DHTMLX Spreadsheet toolbar with the Lock cell button highlighted

Lock cells via the context menu​

  • Right-click a cell/a range of cells you want to lock/unlock.
  • Choose the Lock/Unlock cell option in the appeared context menu.

DHTMLX Spreadsheet context menu with the Lock/Unlock cell option highlighted